Search

Loading Events
Events Alexithymia

Alexithymia

Madison Weinhoffer


September 6-September 29

2021 Fringe Festival

30 minutes

Pay What You Can

The Internet


We follow the journey of Friend, a lost being who cannot understand their emotions, which has, to their confusion, caused their body to fragment. They need help in finding their way back to themselves. In order to learn the ways in which “we” feel, they will go on a sensorial exploration via interactions with some new folks they meet along the way, in order to explore how our minds create neurological connections through experience and memory.

Showtimes

Monday, Sep 6, 2021 – 6:00pm
Tuesday, Sep 7, 2021 – 6:00pm
Wednesday, Sep 8, 2021 – 6:00pm
Thursday, Sep 9, 2021 – 6:00pm
Friday, Sep 10, 2021 – 6:00pm
Saturday, Sep 11, 2021 – 6:00pm
Saturday, Sep 18, 2021 – 6:00pm
Friday, Sep 17, 2021 – 6:00pm
Thursday, Sep 16, 2021 – 6:00pm
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2021 – 6:00pm
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2021 – 6:00pm
Monday, Sep 13, 2021 – 6:00pm
Sunday, Sep 12, 2021 – 6:00pm
Sunday, Sep 19, 2021 – 6:00pm
Sunday, Sep 26, 2021 – 6:00pm
Monday, Sep 27, 2021 – 6:00pm
Monday, Sep 20, 2021 – 6:00pm
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2021 – 6:00pm
Tuesday, Sep 28, 2021 – 6:00pm
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2021 – 6:00pm
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2021 – 6:00pm
Thursday, Sep 23, 2021 – 6:00pm
Thursday, Sep 30, 2021 – 6:00pm
Friday, Sep 24, 2021 – 6:00pm
Saturday, Sep 25, 2021 – 6:00pm
Saturday, Oct 2, 2021 – 6:00pm
Friday, Oct 1, 2021 – 6:00pm
 

Credits

Conceived by Madison Weinhoffer, and created in collaboration with Sarah Kinn

Sadness/Fear/Anger: Madison Weinhoffer
Friend: Sarah Kinn
Happiness: Clover

Puppet Design and Construction: Madison Weinhoffer
Lighting Design: Connor Sale
Lighting Op/performance: Quinn Chisenhall
Original Composition: Santiago Amezquita
Additional Sound Design: Madison Weinhoffer
Set Design: Jaqueline Penrod
Set Assistance: Richie Schiraldi
PA: Kimmy Higginbotham
Poster Design: Paul Simon

Videography/Editing: Lexi Kuhlman and Elliott Wesa

Special thank you to everyone that contributed to my research survey and data collection!

Content Considerations

Appropriate for all ages.

We talk about feelings…which could stir some things in any older audience members.

Audience Instructions

There are some aspects of lighting due to rapid changes and sound due to volume which could be considered overwhelming for some audiences.

Appropriate for all ages

About the Artists

Madison Weinhoffer is a Houston born interdisciplinary artist, and arts educator currently living and working in Chicago, IL and post-graduation will be working in Providence, Rhode Island with plans of moving to Berlin, Germany when the world is in a better space. She graduated with a B.F.A in acting, a B.A. in anthropology from Texas Tech University, and her MFA in European Devised Performance Practice at Columbia College Chicago. She enjoys puppetry, making music, intermodal arts exploration, research on bridging the gap between neuroscience and art, and hanging out with her cat, Stella.


You can find her currently engaged with Spectrum Theatre Ensemble (www.stensemble.org) in Providence, Rhode Island, advocating for better neuro-diversity and accessibility in the arts. As well as post grad work on an in progress devising company Casual Collision, an artists collective of creators.