Search

Loading Events
Events SOLD OUT: An Encounter

SOLD OUT: An Encounter

Irina Varina


September 10-September 23

2020 Fringe Festival

30 minutes

$10

Broad Street


Walk with Death for 30 minutes, each of you on opposite sides of the street. Death is sorry she (he/they) doesn’t have more time. She’s kinda busy these days.

For one person. Outside. Rain or shine.

Photo credit: Kestin Mica

The walk will take place on Broad Street. It might end near City Hall. Exact meeting location and short instructions will be emailed to you.

Note: this show requires that audience members communicate directly with the performer via email and in person, while socially distant. Appropriate for all ages.

Showtimes

Thursday, Sept 10 at 7pm Friday, Sept 11 at 7pm Saturday, Sept 12 at 7pm Sunday, Sept 13 at 7pm Monday, Sept 14 at 7pm Tuesday, Sept 15 at 7pm Wednesday, Sept 16 at 7pm Thursday, Sept 17 at 7pm Friday, Sept 18 at 7pm Saturday, Sept 19 at 7pm Sunday, Sept 20 at 7pm Monday, Sept 21 at 7pm Tuesday, Sept 22 at 7pm Wednesday, Sept 23 at 7pm

Pricing

$10 general admission

About the Artist

Irina Varina

I am an actor & film/theater maker. Most of my projects start out as explorations of life experiences that are hard to put into words or seem too shameful. Sometimes, I make work by letting myself swim in these experiences while pulling in whatever else is present – a book I or my collaborator are reading, an unexpected memory, the way you moved your arms when I passed you on the street, or the latest news. Embarrassment, discomfort and laughter are often parts of the process.

Some of the things I made: feature film Us, Forever Ago and web series Things I’d Like To Do Instead Of Thinking About Men.

Thank you to:
Maiko Matsushima – designer/outside eye/instigator
Donna Oblangata – exploration buddy/theater punk

Be Part of the Story

Help FringeArts present world-class, contemporary performing arts that challenge convention and inspire new ways of thinking.

This event has passed