Search

Loading Events
Events The Bikes Live in the Basement

The Bikes Live in the Basement

Ed Roth


September 11-October 4

2020 Fringe Festival

40 minutes

$10 – $15

YouTube


The Bikes Live in the Basement is a show about how we are products of our environment until we open our minds and build ourselves. In this 40-minute recorded solo show, you’ll see a monster be shaped. The monster must begin to learn for themselves their own true nature and their way in the world. The show will be an interdisciplinary work of art in which you will see the many crafts that solo creator and performer Ed Roth has been mastering over the years – aerial arts, acrobatics, painting, object and light manipulation, and dance and film techniques.

The Bikes Live in the Basement is autobiographical for Ed Roth – based on their real life story and experience growing up in a household founded on abuse caused from parental mental illnesses. Through the beauty and freedom of movement and circus, Ed will show the traumas from their father’s very extreme OCD and the violence he took out on his family for him to be able to cope. He could not accept any blame onto himself for any of his wrongdoings and put them onto Ed. In the years since their separation from this abuse, Ed has had to break the form that they were molded into. This is a story of finally finding oneself from within after years of being told who you are and who you must be by external forces.

A very special thank you to Sierra Rhoades Nicholls (circus artist – https://www.sierrarhoades.com/), John Draus (Draus Productions), Michael Sheppard (pianist), and Shana and Greg Kennedy (owners of Circadium School of Contemporary Circus) for helping Ed with this project.

 

Trigger warning: this show contains many themes of abuse and mental illness. There also will be some explicit language dispersed infrequently. Parental discretion is advised.

Purchase a ticket to receive the link for when the show is being streamed for the time you purchased. Recommended for 13+.

Showtimes

Friday, Sept 11 at 7pm
Saturday, Sept 12 at 7pm
Sunday, Sept 13 at 7pm
Monday, Sept 14 at 7pm
Tuesday, Sept 15 at 7pm
Friday, Sept 18 at 7pm
Saturday, Sept 19 at 7pm
Sunday, Sept 20 at 7pm
Monday, Sept 21 at 7pm
Tuesday, Sept 22 at 7pm
Friday, Sept 25 at 7pm
Saturday, Sept 26 at 7pm
Sunday, Sept 27 at 7pm
Monday, Sept 28 at 7pm
Tuesday, Sept 29 at 7pm
Friday, Oct 2 at 7pm
Saturday, Oct 3 at 7pm
Sunday, Oct 4 at 7pm

Pricing

$10-15 general access

Be Part of the Story

Help FringeArts present world-class, contemporary performing arts that challenge convention and inspire new ways of thinking.